Skip To Main Content

News Articles

Welcome Britt to Board

The Mt. Vernon Community School Corporation (MVCSC) Board of Trustees is pleased to announce Meghan Britt’s appointment to fill the vacant board seat amidst a highly competitive applicant pool. Britt will fill the remainder of Tony May’s term, extending through the 2024 calendar year.

Thank You Tony May

The Mt. Vernon Community School Corporation Board of Trustees is announcing the resignation of Mr. Tony May, a dedicated trustee who has contributed significantly to the mission and growth of Mt. Vernon schools. After more than 11 years of school board service, May has decided to resign for personal health reasons. The MVCSC Board of Trustees express their profound gratitude for May’s selfless dedication and immeasurable value to the district.


All five schools in the Mt. Vernon Community School Corporation have earned a Highly Effective Schools Accreditation from Solution Tree. This accreditation is a significant achievement that reflects all five schools’ commitment to learning and maintaining the highest levels of educational quality. Mt. Vernon High School, Mt. Vernon Middle School, Fortville Elementary  School, McCordsville Elementary School, and Mt. Comfort Elementary School earned this accreditation by driving permanent, positive, and significant impacts on student achievement.