Skip To Main Content


Ryan Fry, Excellence in Education Award
TOY and SOY Ratings

Again this year, MVCSC will partner with MVEF to recognize Mt. Vernon Teacher of the Year and Staff of the Year!  The program will recognize one Teacher of the Year winner from each building and one Staff member of the Year winner from each building including the admin building / Mini-Marauders / LIFE Center / district employees who serve multiple buildings.    

Recently nomination forms were sent out to ALL staff to nominate TOY and SOY for each building.  Below is a list of the top three nominated Teachers / Staff from each building and links to each building's TOY and SOY rating form.  

Each staff member can rate each nominated Teacher / Staff using the hyperlinked TOY / SOY Google rating form below.  Staff will rate each teacher / staff on a scale of 1:5 (1 being lowest and 5 highest) on each of the criteria.  Please do so by the end of the school day on January 4th. The criteria are as follows; dedication, team player, caring, student-centered, lifelong learner, and innovative.  The teacher / staff with the highest rating will be the TOY / SOY winner for that building.

A selection committee determined by the MVEF will then select a district TOY winner and a district SOY winner (from each of the buildings TOY and SOY winners).   All building winners and district winners will be honored locally by the Foundation and the School District.

In 2018, Jill Prefontaine and her husband, Kevin, established the Ryan Fry Excellence in Education Award to recognize MVCSC District Teacher of the Year and Staff of the Year.  This award is in honor of her brother, Ryan.  A $2,500 award will be given to the district teacher of the year and the district staff member of the year.  Additionally, each building winner will receive a $500 award.  Jill wanted to create this honor to “combine the love that she has for her brother and great teachers.”  Jill’s father, Kenneth, was a treasured math teacher for Mt. Vernon Community Schools for 30 years.

FES Rating Form

MCE Rating Form

MES Rating Form







Jill Chastain

Angie Griffin

Liz Jenkins

Angela Rafert

Abby Kern

Patricia Hunt

Lydgia Palmer

Beth Thomas

Mackenzie Woodard

Brooke Wilson

Kayla Negley

Emily Snider

Emily Morrow

Dawn Teschendorf

Liz Moan 

Wendy Mayo

Rose Dowden 

Melissa Ellerman


MVMS Rating Form

MVHS Rating Form

Admin Building Rating Form







Courtney Stroup

Brigitte Bussen

Desiray Scalf

Jennifer Hohnbaum

Ashley Ridenour

Kathy Reed

Jo Goff

Julie Wilson

Karen Reisterer

Sarah Cruz

Brittany Stewart

Lisa Heitman

Michelle Dunahee

Sarah Clarkson

Troy Guthrie

Treasure Coonce

Dana Hochstedler

Tori Wisker